Alcohol and smoke-free Tāmaki Tūpuna Maunga

By Te Ao Māori News
Maungawhau - Photo / file

A new general alcohol and smoke-free policy for Tūpuna Maunga in Auckland, will be drafted over the coming weeks by Tūpuna Maunga o Tāmaki Makaurau Authority (Maunga Authority).

The policy recognises and respects the spiritual, cultural and community significance of Tūpuna maunga.

Chair of the Maunga Authority, Paul Majurey, says “The Tūpuna Maunga are taonga to be cherished and respected. The sight of cigarette butts, discarded bottles and cans is not conducive to the living connection our communities have with these important places." 

"The alcohol and smoke-free policy is another of the Maunga Authority led measures to enhance the relationship between people and the Tūpuna Maunga and, it is pleasing this initiative has the unanimous support of the Mana Whenua, Auckland Council and Crown co-governance partners who lead the Maunga Authority.”

Currently, 11 out of the 14 Tūpuna Maunga administered by the Maunga Authority have Auckland Council alcohol bans under bylaw controls. However the existing council bans are due to expire in October this year.

Maunga Authority will work with the council during their review in accordance with the new thresholds for bands under the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.

If needed, the Maunga Authority also has the option of creating a separate bylaw under the Reserves Act 1977. 

The 14 Tūpuna Maunga administered by the Tūpuna Maunga o Tāmaki Makaurau Authority are:

  • Māngere Mountain
  • Matukutūruru/Wiri Mountain
  • Maungakiekie/One Tree Hill
  • Maungarei/Mount Wellington
  • Maungawhau/Mount Eden
  • Ōhinerau/Mount Hobson
  • Ōhuiarangi/PigeonMountain
  • Ōtāhuhu/Mount Richmond
  • Ōwairaka/Te Ahi-kā-a-Rakataura/Mount Albert
  • Pukewīwī/Puketāpapa/Mount Roskill
  • Rarotonga/Mount Smart
  • Takarunga/Mount Victoria
  • Te Kōpuke/Tītīkōpuke/Mount St John
  • Te Tātua a Riukiuta/Big King